Sign In



Sarah Baartman District

The Sarah Baartman District, which was formerly the Western district, covers the rural western areas of the province. This district is the largest of the districts and has an area of 58, 242 square kilometers. The coastal parts of the district have temperate winter rainfall, with around 500 -700 mm of rain per year.

The Tsitsikamma and Baviaans parks lie in the west of the district close to the Western Cape. The interior of the Cacadu District is mainly dry Karoo and grasslands comprised of commercial farms.The District comprises of three Areas, namely Grahamstown, Graaff-Reinet and Humansdorp.

The District of Sarah Baartman is one of the seven Districts in the Province of the Eastern Cape and is the biggest district in terms of square kilometers; however it is not densely populated. Population is currently 403,846 which are 5.7% of the total population of the Province.
Grahamstown    The District comprises of three Areas, namely Grahamstown Area (Makana and Ndlambe Municipalities), Graaff-Reinet (Camdeboo, Blue Crane, Ikhwezi, Baviaans Municipalities and the DMA) and Humansdorp (Kouga, Koukamma and Sunday’s River Valley Municipalities).

Each of these areas is unique in terms of the climate and communities (black, coloured, white and Indian) that is rendering services to and the kind of projects it can establish. The language is mainly Xhosa and Afrikaans.

A pro-active and dynamic Sarah BaartmanDistrict Department of Social Development which facilitates investment in human potential towards self reliance and interdependence among individuals, families and communities within a secure socio-economic environment.

To improve the quality of life and social well-being of the people of Cacadu District through integrated and developmental social services in partnership with stakeholders utilizing appropriate and available resources.


MEC: Mrs Siphokazi Lusithi


A caring society for the protection and development of the poor and vulnerable towards a sustainable society.


To transform our society by building conscious and capable citizens through the provision of integrated social development services with families at the core of social change.
Tel: 043 605 5440/1/2

© Copyright 2013 Department of Social Development. All rights reserved.