Sign In


Nelson Mandela District

Nelson Mandela Metro is named after Nelson Mandela - humanitarian, freedom fighter and world icon of peace.It is situated on the shores of the Indian Ocean, overlooking Algoa Bay.
It comprises over 1.5 million people, making it South Africa's fifth largest city in terms of population and the second largest in terms of area. The Department has contributed poverty alleviation projects from both programme Developmental Social Welfare Servicers and Community Development

Port Elizabeth is located on the south eastern coast of Africa. It is a major tourist destination better known as the Friendly City. Port Elizabeth, Uitenhage and Dispatch were incorporated into the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality in 2001.

The Department has contributed poverty alleviation projects from both programme Developmental Social Welfare Servicers and Community Development to these areas.

  • The metro has a population in excess of 1.6 million people.
  • The Nelson Mandela region is the largest contributor to the Eastern Cape economy and its GGP contributes to 41.3% to the Eastern Cape
  • There are two Urban Renewal Programmes in the metro. It’s Motherwell Urban Renewal Programme (MURP) which incorporates Wells Estate and Helenvale Urban Renewal Programme (HURP).

The district is striving to have skilled and committed personnel able to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. On this note the District will focus on motivating personnel during the Social Development month. The focus will be on committing to Batho Pele: Change Management Engagement Programme. This programme seeks to address organisational cultural issues in the Public Service. According to DPSA this programme “is therefore a culture change process to foster appropriate behaviours and attitudes among public servants to reinforce the ethos of Batho Pele. The slogan is “together beating the drums of service delivery”. It simply means working together in teams to ensure that outputs are maximised, duplication is avoided, flaws and weaknesses are identified and addressed before they escalate.”

WalmerWalmer,Walmer Heights,Walmer Downs,Mangold Park,Central, Fairview / Overbaakens
Lorraine,Charlo, Pari Park, Springfield, Gqebera, Greenshields, Miramar, Mount Pleasant
Broadwood, Theescomb, Schoenmakerskop, Sunridge park, Framesby, Fern Glen, Sherwood
Cotswold, Newton Park, Westering
Linton Grange, Morningside, Kabega Park, Van Der Stel, Hunters Retreat / Rowallan Park
Bridgemeade,Kuyga,Greenbushes,St Albans,
Forest Hill, Humewood, South End, Summerstrand, Beach View, Seaview
Kragga Kamma,Mill Park,Linkside,Lovemore Heights
BethelsdorpMalabar,Arcadia,Aspen Heights,Barcelona,Bethelsdorp & Extentions
Booyens Park,Chatty,Extension 28,Gelvandale,Chatty / Bloemendal & Extentions
Heath Park,Helenvale,Hill Side,Kleinskool,Korsten
Kwanoxolo,Palmridge,Salsoneville,Sanctor,Windvogel,Timothy Valley,Schauderville
MotherwellMotherwell (N.U. 1-13),Amsterdamhoek,Bluewater Bay,Wells Estate,Colchester
Kinkelbos,Nanaga,Ncamara,Redhouse,St Georges Strand,Swartkops,Swartkops Valley
Swartkops Flats
ZwideKwazakhele North of Daku Road,Zwide,Algoa Park,Govan Mbek,Ikwadwesi,Kwamagxaki
Missionvale,Soweto on sea,Veeplaas,Kwadwesi Extension,Westville
UitenhageUitenhage Central Town and Kabah,
Uitenhage Northern Areas including Rosedale, Blikkiesdorp, Mountainview, Gamble
Gerals Smith, Tiryville, Santa Barbara, Langa, Mandelaville, Joe Slovo, Greenfields
Tambo Village, Uite
Uitenhage western areas including Kwanobuhle, Khayelitsha, Guguluza, Holomisa, Duduza
Chris Hani, Solomon Mahlangu, Peace Village
Despatch Central Town, Khayamnandi, and Joe Slovo
rural area surrounding Uitenhage covering upto 90km outside the Uitenhage Town Boundary
Including Kruisrivier, Withoogte, Rooihoogte, Rocklands, Elandsriver, Cockscomb and Amanzi

MEC: Mrs Siphokazi Lusithi


A caring society for the protection and development of the poor and vulnerable towards a sustainable society.


To transform our society by building conscious and capable citizens through the provision of integrated social development services with families at the core of social change.
Tel: 043 605 5440/1/2

© Copyright 2013 Department of Social Development. All rights reserved.